4 Comments

STMN: Spaghetti Bolognese II

Last night, I have a spaghetti bolognese. I cooked it a little differently to the first recipe I put up here, so I thought I’d throw in a new post.

Ingredients

  • Beef mince
  • Tomatoes
  • Tomato Paste
  • Garlic
  • Italian Herbs
  • Paprika
  • Onion
  • Mushroom
  • Red wine

Method

  1. Cook the mince. While this will cook a bit during the rest of the process, most of the cooking is done at this point, so you need to make sure it’s pretty well done.
  2. Add the onions and mushrooms.
  3. Add tomatoes and bring to a boil.
  4. Add tomato paste, garlic, italian herbs and paprika.
  5. Add red wine.
  6. Simmer until reduced.

The entire thing takes about 60-90 minutes depending on how much you’re cooking. Serve with spaghetti.

4 comments on “STMN: Spaghetti Bolognese II

  1. Onions first, for the sauce. Damn you man! Also, red wine after mince is brown, to burn off the alcohol.

  2. if you don’t know why onions should be cooked first, please delete this sad excuse of a “food” “blog”.

    • Okay, firstly, this isn’t a food blog. It’s a blog that I sometimes (though not for a while) post about food in. 90% of it isn’t about food.

      Secondly, there is no reason why either *needs* to be cooked first. I prefer to cook my meat first because that ensures it’s going to certainly be cooked. That and I prefer my onions slightly undercooked.

Leave a Reply

