2 Comments

Town – You’re Doing it Wrong

Students. I seriously don’t understand you guys. You’ve got an amazing city with, what should be an amazing nightlife. The only problem is far too many people see town as a place to go once you’ve got trashed on a Thursday and Saturday night. The end goal of going to town is getting laid or projectile vomiting – or both.

I do get it. Sometimes student life sucks and you feel like letting go a bit. I’ve done it before. I know what it’s like to wake up in the morning, look at Facebook and say to yourself, “WHY did I tell [insert name] I love her last night?!” I also know that you will always do it again, because sometimes, you just need to go on a bit of a bender. But seriously, why do people do it every few weeks (or in some cases every week.. Twice).

Have you ever been in some of Hamilton’s awesome live music venues? Flow, Static, Void and Ward Lane are all amazing places. Static will have live music pretty much every week. Prefer dubstep/DnB/glitch etc? Head over to Flow Bar then! You’ll be able to find some good live music most Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays.

And no, I’m not talking about seeing Six60 at Altitude (though I am a bit of a Six60 fan). Seeing bigger artists is great, and I thoroughly suggest you do go see Six60 or The Exponents or whoever else is playing. But also consider heading to other bars and seeing smaller acts from around the country. Believe me, you’ll have a much better time than you expect. I came to Hamilton from Auckland in 2010, and I had no idea that Hamilton even had a music scene. In fact, it took a whole semester before I found out about this stuff when I joined the student radio station, Contact FM.

Trust me, Hamilton has some amazing artists that you’ve probably never heard of. Out of Time, Knights of the DUB Table, Dick Dynamite and the Doppelgangers, the Changing Same, just to name a few. Then you’ve got the DJs. Aum, who are probably one of NZ’s biggest dubstep/DnB acts, are from Hamilton. A few Saturdays back, there was PDIGSSS playing at Flow. He’s part of Shapeshifter. He was absolutely amazing. For me, it was the greatest night out I’ve had in ages, yet most people who read this will ask “Who the heck is PDIGSSS, and for that matter, what the heck is Flow?”

So, consider this your education in what town can and should be. And as part of this education, I’m giving you an assignment. Part A, hit up YouTube and find some Knights of the DUB Table. Find some Aum. Find some Dick Dynamite and the Doppelgangers. Part B, visit Flow Bar and Static at some point. I’ll even give you their Facebook links to find out when stuff is on. Another aid – their addresses. Good luck. Please let me give you an A+, Hamilton.

Flow: 266 Victoria Street. Facebook – http://goo.gl/1KWfH
Static: 5 Hood Street. Facebook – http://goo.gl/2AXNF

2 comments on “Town – You’re Doing it Wrong

  1. Note, the stuff in brackets after the links are so it’s easier for people to get to the right place in the printed version of Nexus.

  2. Given Nexus doesn’t seem to want to print this, I’m removing my “this was published in” thing.

Leave a Reply

