4 Comments

Why I don’t like people who preach about Christianity in the streets/at people’s doors

I’ve been meaning to write this up for a while, but I keep forgetting. A conversation someone was having on Facebook reminded me though, so here it is.

I’m a Catholic. I haven’t always been one, but I became one in 2005. I can’t say I agree with everything within Christianity or Catholicism, but I do find it mirrors what I believe in better than any other religion. That’s something I find about a lot of people with religion – they are born into one, or they choose one, then they think they have to abide by every single teaching that religion ever has had and ever will have. That’s called refusing to think for yourself, not religion.

Anyway, I really don’t like people who say their Christians and preach in the streets or start knocking on doors. I’ve never liked it, but becoming a Catholic has to have made that more clear for me. I can never remember which passage it is, so the Facebook conversation helped me here by quoting it, but I remember the reading for a mass being Matthew 6. To quote parts of it:

So when you give something to a needy person, do not make a big show of it, as the hypocrites do in the streets. They do it so that people will praise them. I assure you, they have already been paid in full. But when you help a needy person, do it in such a way that even your closest friend will not know about it. Then it will be a private matter. And you Father, who sees what you do in private, will reward you.
– Matthew 6:2-4

When you pray, do not be like the hypocrites! They love to stand up and pray in the houses of worship and on the street corners, so that everyone will see them. I assure you, they have already been paid in full. But when you pray, go to your room, close the door, and pray to your Father, who is unseen. And your Father, who sees what you do in private, will reward you.
– Matthew 6:5-6

And when you fast, do not put on a sad face as they hypocrites do. They neglect their appearance so that everyone will see that they are fasting. I assume you, they have already been paid in full. When you go without food, wash your face and comb your hair, so that others cannot know that you are fasting – only your Father, who is unseen, will know. And you Father, who sees what you do in private, will reward you.
– Matthew 6:16-18

I’m usually not one to start quoting the bible at people, but people who shove their religion down your throat annoy me quite a bit. So, please, if you say you’re a Christian, read the book you supposedly believe in, and start behaving in that way.

4 comments on “Why I don’t like people who preach about Christianity in the streets/at people’s doors

  1. A girl after my own heart. I have always had more prayers answered when I prayed all alone in my own home, which is how I prefer to pray. I try to be respectful to these people, but sometimes it is hard.

    I too am a convert and I love the Church. Good post and great job. God Bless, SR

  2. I am so sorry I called you a girl. For some reason I thought you were one. Please correct in comment box. Thanks SR

  3. I agree completely , people who “preach” in the street are drivin by vanity , they seem to enjoy judging there “brothers and sisters” I ain’t no Christian , something of a lapsed catholic . Not easy to be a real good Christian .ie non judgmental , love ur enimes and don’t be blind to the needy , remember Dives. Love.

Leave a Reply

