Leave a comment

That obligatory “9/11 – where were you?” post…

Everyone’s doing it today, so I thought I’d better get on the bandwagon as such.

For me, I don’t remember September 11th. It wasn’t until the morning of September 12th, being on the opposite side of the world, that things got interesting. It’s probably the first full day I remember clearly (I was only ten)

I remember I woke up early that morning. I hadn’t slept too well, so I got up and grabbed some breakfast. As I was walking past the TV going toward the kitchen, I turned it on. I didn’t even look at it. I just turned it on and walked past to get some breakfast. When I got back, it was just as the first tower was collapsing. I didn’t really know what was happening. Then, Mike Hosking came on the air and explained – planes had been flown into the World Trade Centre.

The next thing I did was go down to my Mum who was asleep. I woke her up and said “Mum, they’ve blown up the World Trade Centre”.

With it being a normal day, I had to go to school later on. That morning we had a substitute teacher. The first thing she did was sit everyone down and explain that this was done by some bad people and that there is no chance it would happen here. Then we milked the “oh, but we’re a little scared” for a bit, until the teacher let us do pretty much nothing for the day.

I found an interesting interview while I was trying to find out who was presenting TVNZ’s Breakfast at the time of 9/11. It’s basically saying that the planes were just a ploy and there might be more to this than meets the eye. The guy makes some sense. I don’t at all think there’s some conspiracy where 9/11 was done by the US Government and I don’t think this guy does either, but this is certainly an interesting video.

Leave a Reply

