3 Comments

Can we pretend that airplanes in the… Hold on… No need, thanks :)

It seems my life can always be part of song. Usually the chorus, but not always. The first time I can remember noticing this is when my song was Welcome To My Life by Simple Plan.

The first verse and chorus were quite prevalent for me:

Do you ever feel like breaking down?
Do you ever feel out of place?
Like somehow you just don’t belong and noone understands you?
Do you ever want to run away?
Do you lock yourself in your room?
With the radio on turned up so loud that noone hears you screaming?

No you don’t know what it’s like,
When nothing feels alright,
You don’t know what it’s like to be like me.

To be hurt,
To feel lost,
To be left out in the dark.
To be kicked,
When you’re down,
To feel like you’ve been pushed around.
To be on the edge of breaking down,
And noone’s there to save you.
No you don’t know what it’s like.
Welcome to my life.

That was sort of prevalent from year 8 to about mid way through year 9. In terms of age, that’s about 11-13. Sort of common feelings for someone to have around that point, maybe a bit on the early side, but still relatively common.

The next song was Jesus of Suburbia by Green Day. Mostly:

At the centre of the earth in the parking lot,
Of the 7/11 where I was taught,
The motto was just a lie.
It said home is where your heart is but what a shame,
’cause everyone’s heart doesn’t beat the same.
It’s beating out of time.

City of the dead,
At the end of another lost highway,
Signs misleading to nowhere.
City of the damned.
Lost children with dirty faces today.
No one really seems to care.

That sort of went until the end of year 12, or age 17.

Then I sort of hit the time when I was leaving high school, but I really didn’t want to. As much as I didn’t really listen to the song, I think the best song to look at my life then was Should I Stay or Should I Go by The Clash. You can Google the lyrics of that one.

Last year and a lot of Semester A this year, the song would have been Airplanes by B.o.B feat. Hayley Williams. Just the chorus:

Can we pretend that airplanes in the night sky are like shooting stars?
I could really use a wish right now, wish right now, wish right now.

That’s mostly because I was stressed like hell. However, now everything is going perfectly. I can’t think of a single thing going wrong that’s worth worrying about. I have some amazing friends, I’m doing a university degree I love doing and I’m doing extracurricular things I love too. Debating, Model UN and Contact FM are the three best things to happen to me. So, because of this, the chorus of Smile by Avril Lavigne is the song of the moment:

And that’s why I smile,
It’s been a while,
Since every day and everything has felt this right.
And now,
You turn it all around,
And suddenly you’re all I need,
The reason why I-I-I,
I smile.

3 comments on “Can we pretend that airplanes in the… Hold on… No need, thanks :)

  1. That’s why music is love. It offers such a diverse collection you’ll always find a soundtrack for you life. ^_^

    • There is nothing that music cannot help with. Other than silence maybe.

      But seriously, I don’t know what I would do without music. I use it to help me concentrate, I use it to stop concentrating and just become a bit of a thoughtless vegetable for a bit, I use it to help me calm down when I’m raging, I use it help me rage when I need to. There is always something that can help you get into the mood you need to be in.

      Thanks heaps for the comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

