Leave a comment

The End Is Nigh! (this is not an uber religious post – don't worry)

So, no more lectures for 2010! Just have exams to go. But I thought now would be a good time to reflect on 2010. There have been a number of firsts. For example, until this year, I had never shaken the hand of a convicted murderer. I love how that sounds so much worse than it is. And I’m going to leave that for a while so you can dwell on it.

Being part of @waikatodebsoc has been an amazing experience, and while I didn’t make it onto the executive for 2011, I am really looking forward to next year too. There’s still the chance of being Webmaster of course. I would think it would be a good chance, considering nothing is 100% complete, and I’ve been doing things a very specific way. Getting someone else to finish it off could screw things up. But regardless, I would help whoever gets it if I don’t. I’m really happy that I have been involved with DebSoc this year though. My haul has been three debating tournaments and three @UNYANZ Model UN. And that’s pretty damn good. Haven’t won anything, but I’m stoked to have been a part of it. I wasn’t a huge fan of debating at high school, mostly because of the people involved. But this year, I have become a huge fan.

Talking about @UNYANZ, I did the New Zealand Model Security Council in Christchurch. It was only days before the Canterbury Earthquake too – I flew out Tuesday, it happened early Saturday morning. It was definitely one of the most amazing experiences of my life. Amazing people (as expected, because MUN people are awesome), amazing venues, and just amazing in general. What also got me about it was the fact I saw some amazing buildings that could have been destroyed less than a week later. I did blog about this at the time, but it actually made me a little emotional at the time.

Then there was @Paramore – not once, but twice. First time was in March, and made my life. Then they came back just a couple weeks ago. I cried. For serious. During The Only Exception, I started crying. And since then, I have memories of sparks going off behind the stage at Vector whenever I hear The Only Exception. It all just made my life.

Another big thing to happen this year is my involvement with @ContactFmNZ. Right now I’m doing seven shows a week – weekdays 7-9am, and Tuesday and Fridays 1-3pm. It’s been an amazing experience. I don’t know why, but I feel almost privillaged to have had the opportunity to be involved with the station. I know that anyone can be involved just by sending an email, but it just feels like something of a privillage. And I guess it is, considering bFM in Auckland only has student content overnight, while they have paid DJs during the day. I am seriously looking forward to being involved again next year.

I’m sure I’ve missed out quite a bit, but the big thing about this year is I am so looking forward to doing it all again in 2011

Leave a Reply

