18 Comments

Yesterday on Daniel Farrell.com | Twitter API Problems Update

So, for some reason, yesterday there was a huge surge in views for the website. The percentage change from the day before was +3200%, and it was 660% of the daily average for this year.

This isn’t the first time this has happened this year – it also happened on May 18th, when the percentage change from the day before was +4200% and it was 840% of the daily average. It also happened two days later too.

I can only only find one day that had an influx of views that I can explain… It seems to me that is it just days when people see my tweets or days when people happen to stumble across it more than usual…

I would say that the News Service announcement might have caused the influx yesterday, but that happened after most of the views had happened, because I remember noticing the stats were abnormally high. Today, however, seems to be around about on average.

So, basically, I don’t know why that happened yesterday. I don’t think it will make any difference to the Twitter API problems, because 10 views in 60 minutes is all we have – any more than that and the API problems start occurring. Hopefully I’ll hear back from Twitter in the next day or two regarding putting the IP address of this site on the whitelist. I’ll update you again when I know more.

18 comments on “Yesterday on Daniel Farrell.com | Twitter API Problems Update

  1. Wow… Gotta love strange increase in views…

    Here’s hoping you get on the whitelist. The news thing is actually a really good idea. I like it. And I’ll definitely be using it.

    • Hey ‘Dan Fan’

      Yeah, I was pretty happy with it. I really like it when I get lots of views šŸ™‚

      I see no reason why Twitter was decline me, other than because it would be possible to reduce the requests. The problem is it would mean I need to completely remodel the site. Possible, but a pain.

      Glad to hear you like the idea of the News Service. I think it could be really useful to people, and I want my site to not only be an outlet for things I want to say, but I do want it to be useful too.

      Thanks for visiting!

      DF

  2. attention dan fan

    i am the only fan of dan’s, you understand

    e_e

  3. I agree with Dan here. We should all be fans together. In fact, we should start a fan club! Then we can chat with all the fans. I’m sure there must be more than just us. This site is one I check almost every day!

    • Hey ‘Dan Fan’

      Wow, you check almost every day? That’s cool. And now you get the news too. Well, you sometimes get the news, when the API is behaving…

      Not too sure about the idea of a fan club… I guess I can’t exactly stop you…

      Thanks for visiting!

      DF

  4. the dan fan can-do clan

    let’s do this

  5. Let’s do this!!

    Are you much of a website maker, Avid Fan? I’m not, so you’ll have to make it… Then I’ll come along and do whatever needs doing sort of thing I guess.

  6. hm

    what kind of site do you think should be set up? a message board? or a simple blog, where we can talk about dan and his associated greatness?

  7. How about a WordPress site with a bbPress forum?

  8. wordpress site with bbpress forum it is

    disclaimer
    i have no experience with either of these two technologies

    i’ve heard that dan’s actually implementing bbpress sooner rather than later. maybe we could just claim a thread there on his greatness

  9. Wow this is a great resource.. Iā€™m enjoying it.. good article

Leave a Reply

