1 Comment

Exam Results | Friends

So, exam results come out tomorrow according to NZQA (http://www.nzqa.govt.nz/news/releases/2010/130110.html)… I am sort of nervous, yet sort of relieved… I want to know so I can start making decisions about next year. Something I didn’t know until now, according to NZQA’s press release, “New Zealand is the only country in the world to return marked examination papers to candidates.” which makes me wonder why they do, other than to try and get money out of students, as it costs $20 per paper that you want reconsidered. If a student is 2 credits off an endorsed certificate, obviously they are going to send back almost every paper that was one mark off the required grade. Each subject has 4 or 5 papers, so if you get one per subject for a person taking six subjects, that is six papers sent back. They are paying NZQA $120 to recheck papers. Seems to me to be a money making exercise…

So, I was thinking back about high school and things like that, and I was thinking about my friends… If I am honest, there is four people who I went to high school with who I would take a bullet for. I trust would trust those four guys with everything. I’m only going to give initials, because those guys might not want to be named. If you try commenting them, unless it is from their email address, I will delete it. They are RA, KD, KP and LW. They are in alphabetical order, not in order that I would take the bullet. But I was thinking, what would I do if I lost contact with those guys. I would do anything to make sure I didn’t, but I know for a fact I probably won’t stay in contact. That is the one thing that saddens me about the transition from High School to University (or not if my results aren’t great tomorrow.. D: ) – that I will most likely lose touch with those four people. Yes, technology means that we could stay in touch, but it simply won’t happen. It never does. And I will, without doubt, regret that forever. I am one of the first to say that regrets won’t help and that one should live their life in the present and future, remembering the past to guide you, rather than looking in the rear-view mirror, but this is something I will break that rule with. I can’t help it.

One comment on “Exam Results | Friends

  1. Got a couple replies regarding this – from RA and LW. Both say that the lost of contact won’t happen.. We’ll see… I seriously hope so guys… D:

Leave a Reply

