Leave a comment

4 life lessons we can learn from Tetris

I have been playing Tetris for the past hour or so, and for some unknown reason, that got me thinking about life lessons we can learn from Tetris. And yes, it genuinely was unknown. No drugs or alcohol were consumed before writing this post, however it is 4am which may have contributed to this. So here we go – 4 life lessons we can learn from Tetris.

1. Sometimes, it’s best to say “Well, I fucked that up” and move on

Not always best to use those words, but accepting you’ve made a mistake and moving on to something else can be the best bet. When you’re playing Tetris, if you move on, sometimes you’ll start filling lines, and you’ll open up that box again. It’s the same in real life. If you move on, sometimes something else will come up and open a door for you in something you’ve previously left on the back burner.

2. Don’t forget to look to the future

Sometimes, the block you’ve got now fits somewhere but the one you’ve got coming up will fit better. Sometimes, you might be able to pitch an idea, for example, to the guy in front of you now, but you know if you wait a few more minutes/hours/days/weeks/months, you’re going to be talking to someone who can take your idea further. It’s so tempting to just go with the guy you’re talking to now, but it’s not the best idea to do that.

3. “How do screw up the least?” is just as valid as “How do I avoid screwing up?”

You’re going to screw up. Identifying when you’re on a guaranteed screw up path will mean you can limit damage. Sometimes it’s from earlier mistakes that you’re guaranteed a screw up. Other times, you’re just having bad luck. Calm down, identify the least-worse course of action, and move on.

4. You need to know when to stop

This is one I clearly haven’t learned yet. It’s currently 4am, and I’m pausing for a second while I write a blog post. I’m sure I’ll play another few games of Tetris once I’ve finished this. And if I look at my scores – and because I’m competitive, I do keep my scores so I can challenge myself (and others) to beat my high score – I can see that there’s a marked decline in scores. Taking breaks is the best solution to most things. If you don’t, you’ll start doing this worse, and you’ll be saying “well, I fucked that up” more and more.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

